Pontarddulais green map
For centuries, Pontarddulais (or ‘The Bont’ as it is locally known) was a small hamlet built around a crossing point of the River Loughor. The first railway arrived in 1839 to transport anthracite from the Amman Valley to Llanelli, followed by another line from Swansea and the Graig Merthyr coal mine in 1867. Heavy industry transformed Pontarddulais into a thriving industrial town, with six tinplate works opening between 1872 and 1910. Substantial population and housing growth followed in the early 20th Century, although of course the general ‘de-industrialisation’ of the area in the post war years is also well documented. (From Ward Profile, March 2012, Research & Information Unit, City and County of Swansea).
Pontarddulais continues to be home to a wide range of groups, societies and organisations that give the town its sense of identity. They range from welsh language groups to sporting groups and teams and craft groups and of course, it can boast a rich musical heritage with well known and highly acclaimed choirs and town band.